Illegal Jesus

The Purpose-Driven Blog

Posted in personal by indiegoddess on January 15, 2009

Relax. This has nothing to do with Rick Warren.

I was straight convicted the other day by Twisty about the lack of content at this here webspace.

We especially don’t have time to slog through the “dear diary” kind of blogs that earnest, untalented civilians publish willy-nilly, seemingly without regard for the stress their crummy, uninspired, confessional writing puts on an audience.

I’m not saying that there aren’t one or two pretty splendid dear-diary blogs, or even that people shouldn’t write crummy, uninspired, confessional dear-diary blogs, if that’s what boils their beignets. I’m certainly no F. Scott McShakespeare myself. But when I see that generic Blogger template with the rounded-corner rectangles, and the title is “Madame Bovary On Crack, the insignificant rantings of a depressed, demented sex addict office worker,” and the top post is “The BF and I had another fight last night and this morning I missed the bus and here is a camera-phone picture of my kids with spaghetti-os on their face and my boss is an asshole LOL,” I cannot click away fast enough. Life’s, you know, too short.

I don’t want this to be that sort of blog – the kind that people I respect can’t click away from fast enough. I want to be a blogger with purpose, with substance, with something to say.

Of course we have no readers, so pressure is very low – but then again, we have no readers, and if we were contributing to the blogging community anything that wasn’t already being done x 1,000,000…Well, perhaps that would be a different story.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not attempting to be another Dooce or Liss at Shakesville (although in reality, I do aspire to be as much like Liss from Shakesville as possible). I don’t think that popularity is the only reason to run a blog. I don’t think that an extensive readership is necessary. But neither do I want to be another throw-away, click-away place devoid of humour, interesting stories, or, you know, a point.

So, what shall it be? Stories of our friendship? How our lives are impacted every day by the politics with which we are so obsessed? Yet another ridiculous “dear diary, here’s a picture of my stuffed elephant with spaghetti o’s on his face…” area? (Although that’s not really plausible, as our stuffed animals already have their own Livejournal account. Yes, I’m serious.)

I’d like to see us write about something that means something, in between all of our macro/animated gif wars. I’d like to see us write about the personal implications of current political processes, to see us write about how heteronormativity and gender bias and the aversion to same-sex intimacy daily affect our friendship. I’d like to see us write about the things we try to do on a daily basis to effect change in our own small sphere of influence.

I don’t know what Writer Writing would like to see, or what our few readers would like to see. I know my family members will say “MOAR STORIES ABOUT WHAT YOU DO EVERY DAY,” but that “Dear diary” diatribe of Twisty’s is right on, I think. I have nothing original to contribute to the Dear Diary blogosphere. Other than “Dear diary, today I was too scared to leave the house, again…so I stayed home and shook and took a nap until Writer Writing got home and things got a little more sane.” – My dear diary entries would be filled with reflections on being a terrible agoraphobe, and that, aside from being very depressing, is boring as all hell.

So, any thoughts?

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. wearerofhats said, on January 15, 2009 at 5:41 am

    Frankly, I’m happy to see anything at all. I despise “my kids are cute and my job sucks” posts as much as anyone, but somehow I think that you could turn even such a mundane topic into something worth reading.

  2. William K. Wolfrum said, on January 15, 2009 at 2:14 pm

    The only way to go is to write about what you want to write about. I like Liss’ “teaspoons” theme – every little step counts. And sometimes those steps are for the writer, not just the reader or the world at large.

    You’re doing a fine job here, stay true to yourself and what you want to express and little else matters.

    Bill

  3. indiegoddess said, on January 21, 2009 at 12:18 am

    Excuse me while I have a heart-attack that WKW commented on our blog.

    *Has heart attack*

    Thanks for the advice. Every little step DOES count. Sometimes I feel that I just don’t have anything to add, but there’s always more water, and always more to scoop out, even if I feel that it’s coming from the same general area of the ocean. 🙂


Leave a Reply

