Illegal Jesus

Shakesville: My Thoughts About Melissa [PLEASE GIVE]

Posted in personal, the personal is political by indiegoddess on November 14, 2008

Sustaining Shakesville is a difficult task that falls solely on her shoulders. Contributors aside, Melissa bears all the responsibility. Her posts are what draw people to Shakesville. I think many people do not understand the amount of time, energy, and drudgery to post. While I follow a philosophy of just presenting information and letting the reader decide, Melissa takes the significant time to explain and present an understanding or counter argument that is absent on other sites. She cares about what she is writing. She holds true principles that even on a good day, I am not sure I could reach.

And she does it all for free.

via Shakesville: My Thoughts About Melissa

I do not have much, if anything, to give, but I have committed to donate at least 5$ a month. Any more than that and I plain cannot eat for the month. Yes, right now it’s that bad. But Shakesville gives me strength, hope and joy. It help me remember that we can, by coming together, make something POSITIVE happen in this world. Melissa McEwan is one of my role-models. I want to be more like her every day. My five dollars is paltry, but it’s a promise. Please, please, please consider donating – even one time, anything you can. She is going through a rough time now, she has more on her shoulders than she can bear, and as progressives, we need to reach out and help each other when we’re in need. I’ve seen amazing love shown by total strangers toward me in this community. It’s time I gave back.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. moratorium said, on March 22, 2010 at 7:14 pm

    Oh for fucks sake. Melissa has a MORE than comfortable lifestyle and she has plenty of fucking money. She doesn’t need yours, especially if you’re in a situation where donating six dollars a month would mean you couldn’t eat.

    Ugh. She’s selfish selfish selfish.

    I feel sorry for you. Beating yourself up because you can’t give more to a woman who takes pictures of her cat all day and posts them on the internet and then whines about her lack of income.

    The sad thing is that you think of her as a role model but she’s emotionally manipulates you as much as possible every time donation time roles around. Sick.

  2. writerwriting said, on May 6, 2010 at 2:10 pm

    Liss has never once emotionally manipulated myself or Indie Goddess. It’s fine for you to disagree but don’t make generalizations about IG’s motivation in making this post.


Leave a Reply

