Illegal Jesus

Obama Supporters Beaten Up at Palin Rally?

Posted in political by indiegoddess on October 17, 2008

Developing…From Countdown With Keith Olbermann,

Allegedly, two men who were in attendance at a Palin rally were beaten up and bruised, as well as verbally accosted by a group of 15 old ladies? They have bruises to prove their story, and after the last few weeks I’m really not surprised at all. I have NO problem with protesters at either group’s rallies. I feel that you can be peaceful and protest, even yell, at the opposition, and that this is often a necessary display of disagreement. I wouldn’t have, and haven’t had, problems with peaceful protesters at Obama rallies. Don’t be violent and don’t call for violence. We have the right, not the privilege, the right, to peaceably assemble and petition the government for a redress of grievances, we have a right to freedom of association and freedom of speech.

And when we are faced with opposition, a right to respond, peacefully, without violence.

I don’t care how old the people were who attacked the young men. I don’t care what their gender was. What I care about was that McCain just yesterday said that he was PROUD of the people who attended McCain/Palin rallies, and then the next day, the very next day, we have another stunning example of what those people are doing that he’s so proud of.

Meanwhile, when a mention of MccCain was met with boos from the audience at the Obama rally today, he once again shushed them, and told them they didn’t need to boo, they just needed to vote.

This is not violence, this is just plain booing. This is just plain verbal expression of anger, something that I am just fine with on either side. And Obama, who at this point I think must be made of PURE CLASS, called them on it.

At this point, if I ever saw a move out of McCain that was less than 100% pure scum and bigotry and nastiness, I think I would die of shock. I’m not holding my breath, and thank God. I don’t particularly want to die. In this case, though, I really, really doubt I’ll ever find out.

[ETA: Here’s the original video from The Boston Globe‘s website.]

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. john said, on October 17, 2008 at 12:53 pm

    Why isnt this in the news? The democrats should bring this up.

  2. indiegoddess said, on October 17, 2008 at 5:17 pm

    I saw it on Countdown with Keith Olbermann. Other than that, when I looked, it was only being reported in the Globe. I think it’s amazing that people scream that the media is LIBERAL and is so in the tank for Obama when I never, ever see things like this reported on.


Leave a Reply

